blooms taxonomy

Topics: Educational psychology, Learning, Psychology Pages: 4 (1269 words) Published: January 30, 2014
Blooms taxonomy:

Humans are lifelong learners. From birth onward we learn and assimilate what we have just learned into what we already know. Learning in the Geosciences, like all learning, can be catagorized into the domains of concept knowledge, how we view ourselves as learners and the skills we need to engage in the activities of geoscientists. As early as 1956 Educational Psychologist Benjamin Bloom divided what and how we learn into three seperate domains of learning. Cognitive Domain

Cognitive Domain - This domain includes content knowledge and the development of intellectual skills. This includes the recall or recognition of specific facts and concepts that serve developing intellectual abilities and skills. There are six major categories, starting from the simplest behavior (recalling facts) to the most complex (Evaluation). The University of Washington's Geography Department website Major Categories in the Taxonomy of Educational Objectives has a detailed explanation of Bloom's Six Levels of Cognitive Development (more info) Affective Domain

Affective Domain- How does one approach learning? With confidence, a can do attitude. The Affective domain includes feelings, values, appreciation, enthusiasms, motivations, and attitudes. The University of Dayton, School of Law Affective Domain website describes each catagory in the domain and provides illustrative examples and keywords for the cognitive, affective, and psychomotor domains. Psychomotor Domain

Psychomotor Domain- The psychomotor domain includes physical movement, coordination, and use of the motor-skill areas. Development of these skills requires practice and is measured in terms of speed, precision, distance, procedures, or techniques in execution. For a more detailed treatment of this domain see the Penn State Teaching and Learning with Technology website Psychomotor Domain Taxonomy (more info) Connecting Learning and Assessment

To see how assessments are built from these domains of...

References: Anderson, L. W., & Krathwohl, D. R. (Eds.). (2000). A taxonomy for learning, teaching, and assessing: A revision of Bloom’s taxonomy of educational objectives. New York: Longman.
Bloom, B. S., Engelhart, M. D., Furst, E. J., Hill, W. H., & Krathwohl, D. R. (1956). Taxonomy of educational objectives: The classification of educational goals. Handbook 1: Cognitive domain. New York: David McKay.
Bransford, J. D., Brown, A. L., & Cocking, R. R. (Eds.). (2000). How people learn: Brain, mind, experience, and school. Washington, DC: National Academy Press.
Paul, R. (2003). Draft statement of principles. National Council for Excellence in Critical Thinking. Retrieved May 28, 2004 from
Wenger, E. (1998). Communities of practice: Learning, meaning, and identity. UK: Cambridge University Press.
Continue Reading

Please join StudyMode to read the full document

You May Also Find These Documents Helpful

  • Essay on Blooms Taxonomy
  • Blooms Taxonomy Essay
  • Blooms Taxonomy Essay
  • benjamin bloom Essay
  • Bloom's Taxonomy Essay
  • Facilitating Learning and Bloom’s Taxonomy Essay
  • Blooms Taxonomy Essay
  • Bloom’s Taxonomy Essay

Become a StudyMode Member

Sign Up - It's Free
Dragon Ball – Bảy Viên Ngọc Rồng chap 119 | UltraCopier | AlboRalm