Nobel Prizes in Chemistry

Topics: Chemistry, Nobel Prize, Organic chemistry Pages: 14 (2484 words) Published: July 7, 2013
All Nobel Prizes in Chemistry
The Nobel Prize in Chemistry has been awarded 104 times to 163 Nobel Laureates between 1901 and 2012. Frederick Sanger is the only Nobel Laureate who has been awarded the Nobel Prize in Chemistry twice, in 1958 and 1980. This means that a total of 162 individuals have received the Nobel Prize in Chemistry. Click on the links to get more information.

2012 – Robert J. Lefkowitz and Brian K. Kobilka
"for studies of G-protein-coupled receptors"

2011 – Dan Shechtman
"for the discovery of quasicrystals"

2010 – Richard F. Heck, Ei-ichi Negishi and Akira Suzuki "for palladium-catalyzed cross couplings in organic synthesis"

2009 – Venkatraman Ramakrishnan, Thomas A. Steitz and Ada E. Yonath "for studies of the structure and function of the ribosome"

2008 – Osamu Shimomura, Martin Chalfie and Roger Y. Tsien "for the discovery and development of the green fluorescent protein, GFP"

2007 – Gerhard Ertl
"for his studies of chemical processes on solid surfaces"

2006 – Roger D. Kornberg
"for his studies of the molecular basis of eukaryotic transcription"

2005 – Yves Chauvin, Robert H. Grubbs and Richard R. Schrock "for the development of the metathesis method in organic synthesis"

2004 – Aaron Ciechanover, Avram Hershko and Irwin Rose
"for the discovery of ubiquitin-mediated protein degradation"

"for discoveries concerning channels in cell membranes"

2003 – Peter Agre
"for the discovery of water channels"

2003 – Roderick MacKinnon
"for structural and mechanistic studies of ion channels"

"for the development of methods for identification and structure analyses of biological macromolecules"

2002 – John B. Fenn and Koichi Tanaka
"for their development of soft desorption ionisation methods for mass spectrometric analyses of biological macromolecules"

2002 – Kurt Wüthrich
"for his development of nuclear magnetic resonance spectroscopy for determining the three-dimensional structure of biological macromolecules in solution"

2001 – William S. Knowles and Ryoji Noyori
"for their work on chirally catalysed hydrogenation reactions"

2001 – K. Barry Sharpless
"for his work on chirally catalysed oxidation reactions"

2000 – Alan J. Heeger, Alan G. MacDiarmid and Hideki Shirakawa "for the discovery and development of conductive polymers"

1999 – Ahmed H. Zewail
"for his studies of the transition states of chemical reactions using femtosecond spectroscopy"

1998 – Walter Kohn
"for his development of the density-functional theory"

1998 – John A. Pople
"for his development of computational methods in quantum chemistry"

1997 – Paul D. Boyer and John E. Walker
"for their elucidation of the enzymatic mechanism underlying the synthesis of adenosine triphosphate (ATP)"

1997 – Jens C. Skou
"for the first discovery of an ion-transporting enzyme, Na+, K+ -ATPase"

1996 – Robert F. Curl Jr., Sir Harold W. Kroto and Richard E. Smalley "for their discovery of fullerenes"

1995 – Paul J. Crutzen, Mario J. Molina and F. Sherwood Rowland "for their work in atmospheric chemistry, particularly concerning the formation and decomposition of ozone"

1994 – George A. Olah
"for his contribution to carbocation chemistry"

"for contributions to the developments of methods within DNA-based chemistry"

1993 – Kary B. Mullis
"for his invention of the polymerase chain reaction (PCR) method"

1993 – Michael Smith
"for his fundamental contributions to the establishment of oligonucleotide-based, site-directed mutagenesis and its development for protein studies"

1992 – Rudolph A. Marcus
"for his contributions to the theory of electron transfer reactions in chemical systems"

1991 – Richard R. Ernst
"for his contributions to the development of the methodology of high resolution nuclear magnetic resonance (NMR) spectroscopy"

1990 – Elias James Corey
"for his development of the theory and methodology of organic synthesis"

1989 –...
Continue Reading

Please join StudyMode to read the full document

You May Also Find These Documents Helpful

  • Nobel Prize Essay
  • Chemistry Essay
  • chemistry Essay
  • Obama's Nobel Peace Prize Essay
  • Nobel Prize Research Paper
  • Essay on Nobel Peace Prize (Mlk)
  • Nobel Prize Assignment Essay
  • Nobel Prize Essay

Become a StudyMode Member

Sign Up - It's Free
Pet Sematary | NEW Boveda Butler Smart Humidor Sensor Monitor with One Step Calibration Kit | ศึกอัศวินดำก่อเกียรติ